Everyone’s a critic, so who cares?

2olzhzbpqwssminqtbtdlrgdjph

I wasn’t expecting to write another article about Batman V Superman until later in the year when I compare all the big comic films, for the record Deadpool, BvS, Civil War, Suicide Squad, X-men: Apocalypse and Doctor Strange are all out this year, if you head over to Metacritic or Rotten Tomatoes you’ll see that critics have given it mixed to negative reviews, while fans are for the most part raving about it. This isn’t as uncommon as people seem to think, fans and critics are often hugely divided on films, music, books and games. Music critics from NME, Rolling Stone, Spin, Entertainment Weekly and Uncut gave glowing reviews in 2003 for Metallica’s “St. Anger” album, conversely almost every Metallica fan ever lists St. Anger as the worst album the band ever made, they don’t even play a single track of it live. Another popular example is the Star Wars prequels, critics loved them, fans despised them so much that we all wish we could go back in time and stop them from happening, seriously go check out Rotten Tomatoes listing for Revenge of The Sith it has an 80% approval rating, play that over in your head again; Hayden Christensen got an 80% approval rating.

The point I’m making is that the subjective nature of entertainment media is something that comes down to the personal preferences of the individual; I hated Man of Steel and loved Batman V Superman, a friend of mine loved Man of Steel and hated Batman V Superman, is one of us right and one of us wrong? No, it’s just a subjective preference based on individual tastes. People often take critics word as gospel, as though they’re somehow more qualified than others to analyse a film. Would you then believe me if I told you that some of the most famous movie critics in the world have never been involved in film on any level? It’s true, Roger Ebert, Gene Siskel and Richard Roeper are arguably the three most well-known film critics of all time and they couldn’t write a script between the three of them. Critics are just journalists and journalists aren’t perfect human beings, they’re just people being paid to write about what they see and if you agree with their opinion that’s fine, if you don’t that’s okay too.

All I know is that if you’re the kind of person bases their decision of whether they should or shouldn’t see a movie, read a book or play a game on the reviews it gets then you’re likely depriving yourself of some of the most enjoyable pieces of creative art in the world. This isn’t me defending Batman V Superman, I already reviewed it and I don’t need to justify my review any more than other writers need to justify their own. I’ll end this with a brief anecdote; in 2002 I had a school teacher tell me that I was a terrible actor and that I would never succeed in the performing arts, in 2009 I was cast in my first major production; Death of a Salesman, since then I’ve done a few stand-up comedy shows, music performances and a few other roles in plays. I’m not saying I’m Leo DiCaprio, but the point is that just because someone thinks something or someone isn’t any good doesn’t mean that’s the case. You should always endeavour to make up your own mind otherwise you’ll spend your life parroting what other people have already said, in the words of Matt Damon “Don’t do that”.

Leave a Reply

